Sri Lanka to host third edition of ICC mini World Cup

Written by: M Nagaraj
Published: Monday, August 19, 2002, 14:22 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Bangalore: The Champions Trophy scheduled to be held at Colombo from September 12 to 29 is the third edition of International Cricket Council's (ICC) mini World Cup championship.

South Africa had taken the cake in the first edition at Dhaka, Bangladesh with West Indies finishing as runner-up. The second edition at Nairobi, Kenya saw India knock out Australia in the first round and advance to the final. India lost to New Zealand in the final, which set off a streak of ODI final losses.

India, in fact, had the honour of scoring the highest total of 307 for seven off 50 overs in the first edition at Dhaka. The score was against Australia in which Sachin Tendulkar excelled, both, with the bat and the ball. Sachin slammed 141 runs and took four for 38 in his man-of-the-match effort as India beat Australia.

Philo Wallace of West Indies was the highest individual run getter from three matches, while Jacques Kallis of South Africa became the first bowler to claim five wickets as also the highest wicket taker in the tournament with eight wickets.

The second version at Nairobi also saw India aggregating the highest score of the tournament of 295 for six in 50 overs against South Africa, which it won by a big margin.

Saurav Ganguly was the highest run accumulator with 348 runs to his credit including two centuries. B K Venkatesh Prasad was the highest wicket-taker, while Sri Lanka's Muthiah Muralitharan returned the most economical spell of 10 overs, four maidens, nine runs and no wickets against the West Indies.

New Zealand's Shayne O'Connor became the first bowler to claim five wickets in the tournament and achieved that feat against Pakistan.

Write Comments