Sachin ducks LBW controversy

Published: Tuesday, December 14, 1999, 5:30 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Adelaide: Indian captain Sachin Tendulkar refused to buy into the row over his controversial dismissal yesterday in his team's first test loss to Australia, despite widespread condemnation of the decision by India's fanatical cricket supporters.

The master batsman was given out without scoring late on the fourth day of the first test at Adelaide oval after ducking into an attempted bouncer from Aussie paceman Glenn McGrath. But the ball did not bounce as high as expected, skidding through and striking the Indian skipper on the shoulder as he was crouching down.

Australian umpire Daryl Harper, who also gave Tendulkar out in the first innings, hesitated for some time before raising his finger, sparking a row within both the Indian and Australian media. While some commentators applauded Harper's decision, others said the batsman should have been given the benefit of the doubt.

Television replays of the ball's trajectory indicated it might have clipped the top of the stumps but were mostly inconclusive. When asked about the decision and the row it had created back in India, Tendulkar graciously shrugged it off though he admitted he was a little disappointed.


Write Comments