Neutral umpires have come to stay

Published: Saturday, January 1, 2000, 18:23 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Bangalore: International supervision is now becoming the order of the day. Players from different countries are now looking at umpires from third countries as possible solutions to complaints against those officiating on field.

The art of umpiring today, however, has been redefined with the extensive use of the third umpire and the involvement of the match referee. As Raman Subba Row of England said during the South Africa versus India series recently, the role of the match referee is that of a team leader. "It is his job to do that and to try and ensure that the ICC regulations are adhered to."

With the game becoming very competitive and the players becoming very athletic, the need for third country supervision is very much the need of the hour than ever before in this game of glorious uncertainties. The neutral umpires have thus come to stay.

Keeping this in mind the International Cricket Council (with the consent of the respective Cricket Boards) draws up a list of neutral umpires to officiate in the various matches that happen through out the year. With more Limited Overs Internationals and tours becoming the order of the day, the neutral umpires to have a lot of touring to do may be some times as much as the players.

India's S. Venkataraghavan (Tamil Nadu) and A.V. Jayaprakash (Karnataka) are on the ICC panel of umpires. The ICC also prepares a list of match referees from players who have represented their countries in the highest level of the game. G.R. Vishwanath (Karnataka) and Hanumant on the panel of ICC match referees.

International panel of umpires:

Australia: Darrell Hair and Daryl Harper.

England: John Hampshire, George Sharp, David Shepherd and Peter Willey.

India: S Venkataraghavan and A V Jayaprakash.

New Zealand: Steve Dunne and Doug Cowie.

Pakistan: Athar Zaidi and Riazuddin.

South Africa: Rudy Koertzen and David Orchard.

Sri Lanka: B C Cooray and Peter Manuel.

West Indies: Steve Bucknor and Edward Nicholls.

Zimbabwe: Ian Robinson and Russell Tiffin.

International match referees:

Australia: Peter Burge and Barry Jarman.

England: Mike Denness, Raman Subba Row and Alan Smith

India: G.R. Vishwanath and Hanumant Singh.

New Zealand: Graham Dowling, Brian Hastings and John Reid.

Pakistan: Intikhab Alam and Naushad Ali.

South Africa: Peter Van Der Merwe and Ebrahim Isaacs.

Sri Lanka: Ranjan Madugalle and Bandula Warnapura.

West Indies: Cammie Smith and Jackie Hendriks.

Zimbabwe: Justice Ahmed Ebrahim and Howard Gardiner.

Write Comments