In 1893, the WACA Ground was officially opened. In February of the next year, the first match was played on the turf wickets. Over the years, the ground has gradually developed into a class stadium. The latest improvement being the removal of concrete from the hill on the side boundaries and replacing it with grassed areas. The ground is now of an adequate size with the Prindiville Stand and Lillee-Marsh Stands taking the capacity up to 26 000.
The ground is situated next to the Swan river and Queens Gardens, a picturesque setting. The famous Fremantle Doctor, a wind which comes from the South-West, passes through the ground everyday, a pleasant refresher for both the players and crowd alike.