Past World Cups

Published: Saturday, January 1, 2000, 18:23 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Women's World Cup was initiated way back in 1973, as a matter of fact, two years ahead of the Men's World Cup. The inaugural edition of the World Cup for women was held in England and won by England. Thereafter Australia have dominated the scene, lifting four of the five played. England won one of the editions, which was again the one held at England in 1993. The tally now stands at four to Australia and two to England with the other nations yet to make a beginning.

Roll of honour

Year   Venue             Won by
1973    England            England
1978    India                   Australia
1982    New Zealand  Australia
1988    Australia           Australia
1993    England            England
1997    India                   Australia
2000    New Zealand   New Zealand

Write Comments