Ganguly does not figure in Akram-led Asia XI

Published: Monday, March 27, 2000, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

New Delhi: Newly anointed India skipper Saurav Ganguly does not figure in the Asia XI squad, to be led by deposed Pakistani captain Wasim Akram, to face Brian Lara-led rest of the World XI in an one-day match in Dhaka on April 8.

The teams for the day-night match, to be held in Dhaka on April 8, was picked up here on Tuesday by a five-member selection panel consisting of former cricketing greats Ian Chappel, Tony Greig, Sunil Gavaskar, Mike Proctor and Asif Iqbal. Former India all rounder and now television commentator Ravi Shastri was the moderator for the panel.

Announcing the two teams, International Cricket Council president Jagmohan Dalimya told a press conference that the entire process of selection will be telecast during the ICC cricket week to be held from April 2 to 9. The cricket match will be the hallmark for the cricket week.

The Asia XI team includes four Indians - Sachin Tendulkar, Ajay Jadeja, Robin Singh and Anil Kumble. Asked why Ganguly did not figure in the list, Dalmiya said, ''They (selectors) must be having their own reasons for not selecting somebody. We had provided them with the whole list. You can see it for yourself while the selection process is telecast.''

''Ganguly's name was considered by the selection panel. That much I am sure,'' he added. ''The teams were selected after a lot of deliberations.''

Dalmiya said except four players, the selection panel had been provided with the entire list of current players. All the four unavailable players were Australians including skipper Steve Waugh. The others were Ricky Ponting, leg-spinner Shane Warne and fast bowler Glen McGrath. ''Steve is down with a hamstring injury while Warne and McGrath had domestic problems,'' explained the ICC president.

He said the final eleven of from the list of twelve for each team will be picked up by the respective captains and vice-captains in consultation with Asif Iqbal, who will be present in Dhaka.

The teams

Asia XI: Wasim Akram (captain), Sanath Jayasuriya (vice-captain), Moin Khan (wicket-keeper), Saeed Anwar, Sachin Tendulkar, Aravinda de Silva, Ajay Jadeja, Abdul Razzaq, Robin Singh, Anil Kumble, Muthiah Muralitharan and Shoaib Akhtar.

Rest of World XI: Brian Lara (captain), Mark Waugh (vice-captain), Adam Gilchrist (wicket-keeper), Jacques Kallis, Michael Bevan, Neil Johnson, Lance Klusener, Chris Cairns, Daniel Vettori, Curtly Ambrose, Allan Donald and Andrew Caddick.



Write Comments