Sharma benefit tie at Delhi today

Published: Wednesday, April 26, 2000, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

New Delhi: The Yashpal Sharma benefit match scheduled to be held at the Nehru Stadium later on Wednesday will feature most of the top cricketers of the country. With some of the cricketers expected to meet the Union sports minister S S Dhindsa on Thursday over the betting and match-fixing scandal, the match assumes significance off the field rather on it.

Manoj Prabhakar, who first broke the news of betting and match-fixing scandal, will play along side some of his former colleagues in the team led by Kapil Dev. Some of the players on whom aspersions were cast in a recent article in a news magazine will also figure in the match. The Kapil Dev led team will clash swords with the Sachin Tendulkar led squad in the day/ night affair.

Sharma, who has now turned into a television commentator, has played 37 Test and 42 Limited Overs International matches.

The teams:

Kapil Dev XI: Kapil Dev (captain), Dilip Vengsarkar, VVS Laxman, Vinod Kambli, Manoj Prabhakar, Nayan Mongia, Sanjeev Sharma, Atul Wassan, Debashish Mohanty, Harbhajan Singh, Chetan Sharma, Rajesh Chouhan and Syed Kirmani.

Sachin Tendulkar XI: Sachin Tendulkar (captain), Ajay Jadeja, Mohammad Azharuddin, Hrishikesh Kanitkar, Robin Singh, Sunil Joshi, Syed Saba Karim, Nikhil Chopra, Javagal Srinath, T Kumaran, Amit Bhandari and Venkatesh Prasad.

Read more about: delhi
Write Comments