Kallis reigns supreme as SA take control

Published: Tuesday, November 14, 2000, 22:00 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Bloemfontein: South Africa sped to 203 for three at the break of tea, on Friday, with Jacques Kallis in rip-roaring form. Kallis coming in at the fall of Dippenaar's wicket in the very first over, initially steadied the boat before launching into a flurry of strokes to lead his team to a position of strength at tea. In the process Kallis reached to his seventh century and remained unbeaten on 117 at tea. Resuming at 97 for two at lunch, Kallis and Cullinan continued in fluent style before Cullinan was done when he played-on trying to cut a delivery from Walker.

McKenzie then joined Kallis to see South Africa to 203 without further loss.Kallis' knock was the toast of the day, with Kallis displaying a rich vein of form, exhibiting some classic cover-drives laced with his customary ballets down the deck. Earlier South Africa captain Shaun Pollock won the toss and elected to bat. It was a dream start for New Zealand as left-arm medium pacer Shayne O'Connor struck of the second ball of the match.Connor had opener Boeta Dippenaar caught by Nathan Astle as South African lost a wicket without any run on the board. Kirsten and Kallis are South Africa's two most experience batsman and they carried on the responsibility of rebuilding the innings.With Kirsten settling into his customary role of a sheet anchor, Kallis began to slowly open up once he settled down.

Kallis raced to his half century ahead of Kirsten as South Africa looked to consolidate on their fairly good start despite losing an early wicket. But, South Africa suffered their second loss at the stroke of lunch. Kallis' 59 came off 96 balls with 12 fours.The umpires called for lunch just as opener Gary Kirsten (31) was out caught by Nathan Astle in the slips of Chris Martin.

The teams: South Africa: Gary Kirsten, Boeta Dippenaar, Jacques Kallis, Daryll Cullinan, Neil McKenzie, Lance Klusener, Mark Boucher, Shaun Pollock (captain), Nicky Boje, Allan Donald and Makhaya Ntini.

New Zealand: Mark Richardson, Craig Spearman, Mathew Sinclair, Stephen Fleming (captain), Nathan Astle, Craig McMillan, Adam Parore, Brooke Walker, Daryl Tuffey, Chris Martin and Shayne O'Connor.

Write Comments