Vijay Hazare bags Castrol life-time award

Updated: Tuesday, September 18, 2012, 17:52 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Vadodara: Former Indian captain Vijay Samuel Hazare has become the first recipient of the ''Castrol life-time achievement award'', instituted to honour those who have made a significant contribution to Indian cricket.

The octogenarian received the award at his residence ''Mayur'' bungalow in the heart of the city by the hands of Castrol India Limited director automotive sales and marketing Jiten Goswami.

The award comprises of a glittering trophy and a cheque of Rs five lakh.Speaking at a simple ceremony, Mr Goswami said, ''It is indeed an honour for Castrol to felicitate an outstanding cricketer like captain Hazare, whose contribution to Indian cricket has been outstanding and whose records are legendary.''Captain Hazare, whose health is not sound, said in an emotionally choked voice, ''I will be grateful to Castrol India limited, till my last breath, for presenting me with this award.''Mr Hazare was the first Indian to complete 1000 and 2000 runs in Test cricket.

He is also first Indian to score a century in each innings in a Test that too against Sir Don Bradman's Invincible Australians of the Forties.Mr Hazare made his Test debut on the tour of England in 1946, he scored a century in each innings against Australia at Adelaide in 1947-48. He lead the country in 1951-52 against England and won the first Test match under his leadership.

He was chairman of selection committee when India recorded their first-ever victory in a Test series against England in 1961-62. Mr Goswami said the third annual Castrol awards for cricketing excellence will be held on Friday at Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai. Sachin Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid won the award for 1997-98 and1998-1999 respectively.

Jyoti Yadav of Uttar Pradesh won the CentralJunior Cricketers of the year award in 1997-98 and Rajesh Pawar for1998-99.

Yuvraj Singh has been named the Castrol Junior Cricketer ofthe year for 1999-2000. The five finalists for the control award (sr) for this year are Sachin Tendulkar, Saurav Ganguly, Rahul Dravid, Anil Kumble and Javagal Srinath, he added. UNI

Read more about: vijay hazare
Story first published:  Monday, December 11, 2000, 23:53 [IST]
Write Comments