Thatscricket- Cricket News - Aussies fume over itinerary change by BCCI

Published: Monday, January 8, 2001, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

New Delhi: The keenly-awaited cricket tour of India by Steve Waugh's all-conquering Australia next month has run into rough weather over a last-minute change in the itinerary.The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) changed the schedule drawn up six months ago to accommodate a Limited-Overs tri-series in Sharjah in the first week of April.India agreed to take part in the Sharjah tournament from April 4 even though the Australian tour was due to end only on April 6 with the fifth One-day International at Bangalore.Caught in a cleft stick, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) decided to cancel a three-day match ahead of the first Test to ensure the tour ends by April 2. The move has drawn loud protests from the Australian Cricket Board (ACB)."After agreeing to the tour six months ago, the Indian Board has changed it unilaterally," 'The Hindu' newspaper quoted ACB chief executive Malcolm Speed as saying."It's not acceptable to the Australian Board," Speed said, adding he was willing to fly to India this week to sort the problem. BCCI secretary Jayawant Lele said a final itinerary would be announced on January 22, just three weeks before the Australians land on February 14."There is no problem, everything will be sorted out," Lele said, refusing to concede the BCCI erred in agreeing to play the Sharjah tournament before the Australian tour ended.BCCI sources said Sharjah organisers may be persuaded to postpone the tri-series against Pakistan and Sri Lanka by a few days if the Australians refused to accept a changed itinerary.Australia are due to play three Tests and five one-dayers during the Indian tour, which captain Waugh considers the ultimate test of his world-beating team.Australia, who have conquered all opposition in the last decade and capped that with a record 15-match winning streak, have not won a Test series in India in 31 years.Copyright AFP 2000

Write Comments