Thatscricket- Cricket News - Western Railway win Nargis Dutt title

Published: Tuesday, January 9, 2001, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Lucknow: Western Railway retained the 8th Nargis Dutt memorial women's cricket tournament, defeating Northern Railway by eight wickets in the final at the K D Singh ''Babu'' Stadium on Tuesday. Batting first, Northern Railway scored 125 for nine wickets in the allotted 40 overs. Gurdeep Kaur was the top scorer with 36 runs in 63 balls with one boundary. Rajni Bhalla contributed 33 runs with one boundary in 68 balls. Both added 39 runs for the seventh wicket. At one stage Northern Railway lost five wickets for 19 runs in only 9.4 overs. Western's Vandana Gupta captured three wickets for 11 runs.In reply, Western Railway scored 126 runs losing only two wickets. Megha Bhalke remained not out with 63 runs off 95 balls including five hits to the fence and added 65 runs for the second wicket with Arundhati Kirkire (17). Megha Bhalke won the man-of-the-match, while Arundhati Kirkare bagged best batsman and player of the match titles. The best bowler's prize went to western's Bindeshwari Goyal, while best all-rounder title went to western's Sangeeta Kamat. Northern's Jaya Sharma was adjudged the best fielder. UNI

Write Comments