Thatscricket- Cricket News - Agarkar included in West Zone squad

Published: Monday, January 15, 2001, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Mumbai: Ajit Agarkar has been included in the West Zone team to take on South Zone from January 18 to 21 to be played at Surat. The West Zone selectors who announced the team here on Monday have left out Zaheer Khan and brought in Ajit Agarkar.It may be recalled that the Indian coach John Wright had requested the selectors to play Agarkar and Zaheer Khan in alternate matches so that they can preserve their energies for the important Australian tour of India beginning in February.Accordingly the West Zone selectors have given Zaheer who played the first two matches a rest and included Ajit Agarkar. Also included in the team, which will be captained by Nayan Mongia are dashing middle order batsman Vinod Kambli and off spinner Ramesh Powar.The team: Nayan Mongia (captain), Connor Williams, Jacob Martin, Rakesh Patel, Valmik Buch (all Baroda), Wasim Jaffer, Vinod Kambli, Ajit Agarkar, Sairaj Bahutule, Ramesh Powar (all Mumbai), Hrishikesh Kanitkar, Abhijit Kale, Iqbal Siddiqui (all Maharashtra), Niraj Patel (Gujarat), Prashant Joshi (Saurashtra). UNI

Write Comments