Thatscricket - News - AP lift under-19 South Zone title

Published: Monday, January 22, 2001, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Bangalore: The Andhra Pradesh under-19 team lifted the South Zone league championship, recently held at Tirupathi. Andhra remained unbeaten to top the table while Tamil Nadu took the second spot. The once mighty Karnataka had to settle for the third spot thereby failing to qualify for the Nationals.Andhra Pradesh skipper, Mithali Raj along with Monica Venugopal (both AP) were declared the Women-of-the-series, while Mamatha Kishan (also of AP) was declared the Best-batswoman. Uma of Tamil Nadu bagged the Best-bowler and Karuna of Karnataka took the Best-wicket-keeper award.Mithali Raj was chosen to lead the South Zone side and Kamakshi (TN) was picked to be her deputy. Nooshin, Karuna and Rashmi of Karnataka also find themselves in the squad.

Write Comments