Rathore to keep wickets in Challenger series

Published: Monday, January 29, 2001, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Mumbai: There is a shortage of wicket-keepers in India if you go by the Challenger trophy teams selected for the Hero Honda Challenger One-day series to be played in Chennai from February 12 to 15. Vikram Rathore, the Punjab opening bastman, who once played for India has come back into the reckoning albeit this time as a wicket-keeper finding a place in the India 'B' team. The selectors, who selected the three teams - India Seniors, India ''A'' and India ''B'' on Monday seemed to have overlooked the credentials of the young Haryana keeper Ajay Ratra as well as M S K Prasad, who was India's number one wicket-keeper just a year ago. Nikhil Chopra and Nayan Mongia, who were recently absolved of the match-fixing charges, find a place in the India 'B' and India 'A' teams respectively. Also finding a place in the India senior team is Ashish Kapoor the Tamil Nadu off spinner. The three prima donnas of Indian cricket Saurav Ganguly, Rahul Dravid and Sachin Tendulkar will lead the Indian seniors India 'A' and India 'B' respectively. The chairman of the selection committee Chandu Borde, when asked about the inclusion of Vikram Rathore as wicket-keeper, replied that he is doing well with the bat and has also kept wickets, so lets see, how he performs. On preference to Vikram Rathore over Ajay Ratra, Borde said Ratra is still a youngster. "We did not discuss him at all." When asked about Srinath's non-preference to One-day game, he said, "we have selected him let us see." He also added that the India 'A' team to play the visiting Australians will be selected during the Challenger trophy. The Challenger Trophy would be played under lights, Mr Lele added. The teams: India Senior: Saurav Ganguly (captain), S S Das, Yuvraj Singh, Hemang Badani, V V S Laxman, Virendra Sehwag, Vijay Dahiya (wicket-keeper), Asish Kapoor, D Mohanty, J Srinath, Z Khan and S Joshi. India 'A': Rahul Dravid (captain), S Ramesh, S Sriram, J Martin, R Sodhi, H Kanitkar, N Mongia (wicket-keeper), V Prasad, A Agarkar, I Siddique, R Singhvi and Balaji Rao. India 'B': Sachin Tendulkar (captain), J P Yadav, M Kaif, Dinesh Mongia, Robin Singh, Amay Khurasia, S Singh, Nikhil Chopra, Rakesh Patel, Surinder Singh, Doda Ganesh and V Rathore (wicket-keeper). The schedule: February 12: India Senior vs India 'A'. February 13: India Senior vs India 'B'. February 14: India 'B' vs India 'A'. February 15: Final

Write Comments