Railways post 306, AP 21 for no loss

Published: Friday, March 2, 2001, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Asansol: Reigning champion Indian Railways scored 306 for five wickets in 82 Limited Overs final match against Andhra Pradesh in the 25th Senior National women's cricket championship that began at the Asansol Polo ground here on Friday.In reply, Andhra Pradesh scored 21 runs without loss of any wicket playing nine overs when the stumps were drawn. Railways won the toss and elected to bat. Their openers, Rajini Venugopal and Vanita Viola, started their innings laying a solid total of 106 before Rajini was run out. Her individual score was 74 (the highest) with seven hits to the fences playing 164 balls. Vanita was adjudged lbw off Monika Preeti on 56 runs. Her knock was embellished with seven fours. Mithali Raj was caught and bowled by Monika Preeti on 72 runs with ten fours. Hemlata Kala was out on 42 runs interspersed with four boundaries while Anuradha Kirkira was not out on 37 runs. Rupanjali Shastri was out on 14 runs. Andhra Pradesh's Monika Preeti took four wickets conceding 95 runs.The match will continue tomorrow on the last day. UNI

Write Comments