Thatscricket - News - Railways ease their way to title triumph

Published: Wednesday, March 14, 2001, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Asansol: Indian Railways retained the 25th Senior National women's cricket championship title thrashing Andhra Pradesh by 111 runs in a two-day 82 Limited Overs final played at the Asansol Polo ground here on Saturday.Batting first, Railways scored 306 runs for five wickets. In reply, Andhra Pradesh could score only 195 runs losing all its wickets in 80.1 overs.In another match, Mumbai finished third defeating hosts Bengal by eight wickets.Mithali Raj and Rajini Venugopal of Indian Railways bagged the titles 'Player of the Match' and 'Player of the Series' respectively. While Rajini was not out on 74, Mithali Raj followed closely with 72.Kusum Lata of Andhra Pradesh, who hit the first six in the tournament, was awarded a special prize for the only over boundary.In the bowling department, Rupanjali Shastri of Railways got three wickets in 15.1 overs conceding 33 runs while Neetu David and skipper Deepa Kulkarni got two wickets each sparing 52 and 39 runs respectively. G S Lakshmi got one wicket giving 16 runs. Of the Andhra Pradesh batsman, Kusum Lata on 52 and Monika Preti on 35 were the top scorers. Monika also got four wickets conceding 96 runs. UNI

Write Comments