Thatscricket - News - Boon, Jones do the honours yet again

Published: Saturday, March 17, 2001, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Chennai: Reviving some fond memories of the tied Test, the second in the annals of Test cricket history, played at the M A Chidambaram Stadium 15 years ago, the stalwarts of that epic match were involved in a replay of that match, minus few players, for a noble cause.Though both teams could not bring to the fore the same athleticism, it was moments of nostalgia at the Gurunanak College grounds on Saturday, as the two teams led by Ravi Shastri (India) and Allan Border (Australia) showed enough grit on the field.For the record, Australia won by seven wickets, with opener David Boon and Dean Jones scoring 102 and 53 respectively. Once again sharing the centre stage to guide Australia to a comfortable victory. They had scored 122 and 210 runs respectively and were instrumental in Australia piling up a big first innings total 15 years ago.India electing to bat scored 222 for seven in the allotted 40 overs with wicket-keeper Chandrakanth Pandit top scoring with 59 (7x4). The next best performance was from Mohinder Amarnath (48, 4x4, 1x6). Sunil Manohar Gavaskar (21, 4x4), who set up a grand chase scoring 90 in the second innings, on the final day of the tied Test on September 22 1986, and Krishnamachari Srikkanth (27, 5x4) chipped in with useful knocks.Once again it was off spinner Greg Mathews who was the pick of the Aussie bowlers. The wily off spinner, sporting his trademark green baggy cap had become a household name instantaneously when he trapped Maninder Singh lbw to force a sensational tie, relived the memories picking up four wickets on Saturday conceding 39 runs in his quota of eight overs. David Boon (102, 72 balls, 15x4, 4x6) and Dean Jones (53, 29 balls, 5x6, 3x4) regaled the crowd with fours and sixes to shape up a fine Aussie victory.Skipper Allan Border remained unbeaten on 28 (4x4) as Aussies scored 224 for three in 29 overs to win in style. Former Indian skippers Azharuddin and Kapil Dev, who were part of that historic match, did not play on Saturday. For Australia, Steve Waugh did not play, as he is the captain of the present team, which would be playing the third and final cricket Test on Sunday. The proceeds of the match were given to the Gujarat earthquake relief fund.Following awards were presented on Saturday:
Best Batsman: Dean Jones
Best Bowler: Greg Mathews
Best Fielder: Kiran More
Best All-rounder: Allan Border
Man of the match: David Boon.
Brief Scores:India 222 for Seven in 40 overs (S M Gavaskar 21, K Srikkanth 27,Mohinder Amarnath 48, Chandrakanth Pandit 59, Ravi Shastri 7, RogerBinny 13, Kiran More 17 not out, Greg Mathews 4 for 39) lost toAustralia 224 for three in 29 overs (David Boon 102, Geoff Marsh 21,Dean Jones 53, Allan Border 29 not out, Greg Ritchie 9 not out). UNI

Write Comments