Muzumdar refuses to apologise, dropped

Published: Wednesday, March 28, 2001, 0:00 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Mumbai: Mumbai's deputy skipper Amol Muzumdar has seriously jeopardised his career by defying and questioning his state body Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA), and has already started paying for it when he was dropped from the tour of Australia few hours before the Mumbai team left at midnight. Muzumdar, who was already in soup for committing a blunder in inviting Punjab to bat, which MCA felt cost the team its quarter-final Ranji match, refused to apologise for abusing his teammates and questioning the integrity of MCA, joint secretary Mayank Khandwala said on Monday night. Muzumdar, coached by famous Ramakant Achrekar, had refused to wear the shirt with sponsor's logo while captaining the team. He had argued that he has not seen the contract. There has been a suspicion that MCA is giving lesser amount to the players from sponsorship. Muzumdar was hauled up but, while other cricketer Jatin Paranjpe apologised, he refused. If he does not climb down then the right-handed dependable batsman, who once was considered India material, may not wear any cricket shirt for the team next season. The decision taken by two MCA vice-presidents surprised even the senior secretary Ratnakar Shetty who only on Monday read out the team to an agency, which included Muzumdar's name. Mumbai will play in the Global One-day Provincial championship on the Western Australia cricket ground, Perth, the national champions Western Warriors of Australia on March 29, Kwazulu-Natal of South Africa on April 1 and Central Districts of New Zealand on April 2. The final will be on April 4. However, since champions of all the four countries are involved in Tests, none will have its top stars. The winner's cheque will be of 35,000 Australian dollars and runners-up will get 12,500 Australian Dollars. The player of the league series will receive 2,500 Australian Dollars. Mumbai: Samir Dighe (captain), Wasim Jaffer, Vinayak Mane, Jatin Paranjpe, Vinod Kambli, Sairaj Bahutule, Ramesh Powar, Paras Mhambrey, Santosh Saxena, Shriram Kannan, Nilesh Kulkarni and Amit Dani.

Write Comments