Lankan Minister names 5-member panel

Published: Thursday, March 29, 2001, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Colombo: Sri Lanka Sports Minister Laxman Kiriella has appointed a five-member Interim Committee to manage the affairs of the controversy-ridden Board of Control for Cricket in Sri Lanka (BCCSL) after he dissolved the Board. The term of the BCCSL would have ended legally on Saturday, but a court ruling on Monday that the annual general body meeting (AGM) of the Board should be postponed from March 31 made it obvious for the Minister to dissolve it. The latest move by the Sports Minister came after a district court here dismissed a petition filed by Board President Thilanga Sumatipala and two others to cancel the enjoining order restraining the annual general meeting scheduled for March 31. The enjoining order was issued earlier following a petition filed by a rival candidate Sumit Perera, who alleged that the Board had failed to submit the statement of accounts 30 days prior to the meeting. The five-member Interim Committee appointed by the Sports Minister is headed by leading businessman and former cricketer Wijaya Malasekara. Since 1999, the Cricket Board has been racked by legal court battles, involving Sumatipala. His rival candidate Clifford Ratwatte had taken Sumatipala to courts after the annual general meeting, held in March 1999, was marred by allegations of violence and rigging. Following a court order, the then Sports Minister S B Dissnayake had appointed an Interim Committee headed by a leading banker Rienzie Wijtilke and comprising several past cricketers to administer the game until such time a proper meeting was held. The Interim Committee functioned for nearly one year. Sumatipala was elected President uncontested last year after his rival for the post Jayantha Dharmadasa withdrew on the ground that holding the AGM was unconstitutional.

Write Comments