MCC announces new women members

Published: Saturday, May 19, 2001, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

London: MCC Cricket Committee has elected a fresh list of women cricketers as members of the prestigious Marylebone Cricket Club to the already existing list of women cricketers.

Now (2001) the first players have become eligible by virtue of their playing qualifications for MCC Women. The MCC Cricket Committee has elected the following from those who have played sufficient games to qualify under the rules: Enid Bakewell (already an Honorary Life Member), Dr Alison Bruce, Gerry Davis, Claire Eveson, Coral Handley, Sarah Laughton, Marilyn Smith, Debbie Stock, Charlotte Williams.

In 1999, MCC announced its first ten women Members, who were elected as Honorary Life Members of the Club:

Betty Archdale (elected 1999 - died January 2000), Edna Barker (elected 1999), Audrey Collins OBE (elected 1999), Carol Cornthwaite (elected 1999), Jackie Court (elected 1999), Sheila Hill (elected 1999), Rachel Heyhoe-Flint MBE (elected 1999), Norma Izard OBE (elected 1999), Diana Rait Kerr (elected 1999), Netta Rheinberg MBE (elected 1999).

A further six women Members were subsequently added to this list: Audrey Jones (elected 1999), Enid Bakewell (elected 2000), Janette Brittin MBE (elected 2000), Ruth Prideaux (elected 2000), Cecilia Robinson (elected 2000), Norma Whitehorn, (elected 2000).

Courtesy: Don miles (www.webbsoc.demon.co.uk)

Write Comments