Laloo elected as BCA president unopposed

Published: Sunday, May 20, 2001, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Jamshedpur: Former Bihar Chief Minister and Rashtriya Janata Dal leader Laloo Prasad Yadav was on Sunday elected unopposed as the president of Bihar Cricket Association (BCA).

Yadav was the lone candidate for the post of the president and it was only a matter of formal announcement.

The association elected Ajay Narayan Sharma as the secretary while Ravi Shankar Prasad, Satish Singh and Ram Kumar were elected members of the executive committee.

Others who were elected unopposed were L P Verma and Paramanand Sinha for the posts of vice-president (House). Alok Raj, Dilip Singh and Vinod Kumar were elected district vice-presidents while six others district committee members were also elected unopposed.

This was the first election to the BCA after the division of the association following the bifurcation of Bihar.

The cricket body of the new state was named the Cricket Association of Jharkhand, which elected its new team here last Sunday. Though BCA's head quarters still functions here, it would be shifted to Patna after the completion of formalities.

Write Comments