Gavaskar chairing three-day ICC meet

Published: Thursday, May 24, 2001, 2:26 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

London: Indian cricketing legend Sunil Gavaskar is chairing a three-day meeting of the International Cricket Council's (ICC) Cricket Committee-Playing (CC-P) that will consider the question of technology against a background of technical developments in the broadcast coverage of the game and its affect on the role and authority of umpires. "The scope of the discussion will consider a full range of options, including maintaining the current situation, an increased use of technical assistance in making decisions, or a reduced reliance on technology," an ICC spokesman said. ICC chief executive David Richards and cricket operations manager Clive Hitchcock will represent the ICC management at the meeting. Australian umpire Darrell Hair, a member of the ICC panel, joined the meeting on Wednesday to give an umpire's perspective on the role of the on-field and third umpires, in relation to TV replay referrals and decisions. Key matters for discussion within a full review of playing conditions will include the use of lights and penalty runs at Test matches, as well as penalty runs, fielding restrictions and the numbers of players in a team. All decisions reached will be effective for a three-year period from September 1 2001, although CC-P will maintain an ongoing watching brief on the technology issue. The committee will receive an update on the progress achieved to date in the restructuring of the international panel of umpires and referees. Decisions relating to this issue will be taken at the June annual Conference of the ICC. All ICC full member countries plus associates are represented at the CC-P meeting. Delegates attending are Sunil Gavaskar and Kris Srikkanth from India, Allan Border (Australia), John Reid (New Zealand) Zaheer Abbas (Pakistan), Brian Basson (South Africa), Siddath Wettimuny (Sri Lanka), Andy Pycoft (Zimbabwe), Jackie Hendriks (West Indies), A. Roquibal Hassan (Bangladesh), David Acfield (England), Geoff Edwards (Canada), John Everett (Scotland) and Harilal Shah (Kenya).

Write Comments