Eng announces 12, Edwards out injured

Published: Friday, May 25, 2001, 2:42 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

London: England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) have named a 12-member squad for the forthcoming series against Australia. Charlotte Edwards had to withdraw from the series due to injury. The teams will play two Test matches and three One-day Internationals, starting on Sunday 24th June. England: Clare Connor(Sussex) captain; Caps: 53; DOB: 01.09.1976; Clare Taylor (Yorks) 81; 22.05.1965; Caroline Atkins (Sussex) 0; 13.01.1981; Jane Cassar (Notts) wicket-keeper; 73; 24.12.1972; Sarah Collyer (Lancs) 15; 03.10.1980; Laura Harper (Somerset) 8; 21.01.1984; Jackie Hawker (Somerset) 3; 21.02.1981; Dawn Holden (Notts) 18; 09.10.1980; Kate Lowe (Notts) 3; 02.08.1975; Lucy Pearson (Staffs) 30; 19.02.1972; Claire Taylor (Berks) 21; 5.09.1975; Arran Thompson (Lancs) 12; 23.11.1981; Coach Jane Powell aims to build a team capable of winning the next World Cup in 2005. "I have coached England at u-19 and u-17 level and we have some extremely talented young players in the squad this summer," said Powell. The time is right to give our youngsters a taste of competitive international cricket - and it doesn't get any better than facing the Australians, " he added. Meanwhile England captain Clare Connor is also keenly awaiting for the series to get under way as she would like to set right the below par performance at the 2000 World Cup. "We can't wait for the series to start. We know we under-performed at the World Cup and have the perfect opportunity to show we are much better than our final place suggests. Matches against the Australians are always exciting and competitive, and we were involved in a good game against them at the World Cup," said the captain. However, England will be bear with the loss of its star batsman Charlotte Edwards due to a knee injury. She suffered a ligament damage to her knee and will undergo a sugery in June. She will bi out for the entire season. The itinerary for the series is as follows: 4 Day Test Match, Shenley, Hertfordshire, Sun 24 June-Wed 27 June; One-day International, Derby County Ground, Fri 29 June; One-day International, Northampton County Ground, Mon 2 July; One-day International, Lord's Cricket Ground, Tues 3 July; 4 Day Test Match, Headingley, Leeds, Fri 6 July - Mon 9 July;

Write Comments