WC 2003 - Sachin on course to win player-of-the-tournament award

Published: Tuesday, June 26, 2001, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Johannesburg: Sachin Tendulkar may have missed out on a man-of-the-match award against Sri Lanka but it is unlikely he could be stopped from claiming the player-of-the-tournament award once the curtains draw close on March 23.Tendulkar could not claim on Monday the three points that the man-of-the-match carries as it went to paceman Javagal Srinath for his four-wicket burst in the first spell but his 97 was still valuable enough to earn him two points and widen the gap vis-a-vis Sri Lanka's Chaminda Vaas.Tendulkar now has 12 points from India's eight games in the competition with three man-of-the-match awards and three other points picked from two games. Vaas has 8 points to his credit six for claiming two man-of-the-match awards and two for his role in the record breaking destruction of Canada. Tendulkar's run tally of 571 in the competition includes scores of 52, 36, 81, 152, 52, 98, 5 and 97 at an average of 71.37 and also gives him the distinction of scoring more runs than any batsman in a particular edition of a World Cup.In the process, Tendulkar improved upon his own 523 logged during the 1996 World Cup in the sub-continent. His overall tally of 1630 World Cup runs is also way ahead of the next best of 1081 by Javed Miandad of Pakistan, as well as his four centuries in the World Cup are only equalled by Mark Waugh of Australia. Tendulkar's man-of-the-match awards in this competition have come against Zimbabwe, Namibia and Pakistan while Vaas was man-of-the-match against Bangladesh, taking a hat-trick in the first three balls of the innings, and West Indies. Tendulkar also picked a point for his half century against Holland, as well as two from India's game against Sri Lanka on Monday. Vaas began the tournament brilliantly claiming 16 wickets in the first five league games before going wicket less in the match against South Africa and then in the first Super Six game against Australia. He was the sole saving grace for Sri Lanka in its 183-run defeat to India. Behind Vaas there are three players tied on six points - Pakistan's Wasim Akram, England's James Anderson and John Davison of Canada. All three will play no further part in the tournament. Australia is the team in form and has won all its seven games in the competition but surprisingly, no player has gone on to win more than one man-of-the-match award. Six of its players Andrew Symonds, Jason Gillespie, Damien Martyn, Glenn McGrath, Andrew Bichel and Ricky Ponting have been man-of-the-match in successive contests except for one game where Andy Blignaut of Zimbabwe earned the honour for his half century from just 28 balls with eight fours and two sixes.The player of the tournament award is based on the cumulative man-of-the-match results awarded by the ICC match referee. After every game the ICC match referee selects the top three players. Besides a gold watch worth Rands 12,000 (approx Rs 65,000), the man-of-the-match receives three points towards the player of the tournament award. The second best player on the day receives two points and the third best gets one point. If everything goes according to script, Tendulkar will make a pretty picture in accepting the award from Sir Garfield Sobers at the end of the competition. Man-of-the-tournament standings: Sachin Tendulkar (India) 12 Chaminda Vaas (Sri Lanka) 8 Wasim Akram (Pakistan) 6James Anderson (England) 6John Davison (Canada) 6 Marvan Atapattu (Sri Lanka) 5Andy Blignaut (Zimbabwe) 5Vasbert Drakes (West Indies) 5Herschelle Gibbs (South Africa) 5Sanath Jayasuriya (Sri Lanka) 5Lance Klusener (South Africa) 5 Tim de Leede (Holland) 4Saurav Ganguly (India) 4Jason Gillespie (Australia) 4Ramnaresh Sarwan (West Indies) 4Heath Streak (Zimbabwe) 4Scott Styris (New Zealand) 4. PTI

Sachin becomes the highest ever scorer in a single WC

Write Comments