Thatscricket - News - Sri Lanka wins toss, elects to bat

Published: Sunday, July 22, 2001, 0:00 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Colombo: Sri Lanka won the toss and elected to bat first against India in a day-night match of the triangular cricket series on Sunday.India made two changes from the team which had lost to New Zealand by 84 runs on Friday. Medium-pacer Debashish Mohanty replaced left-arm seamer Ashish Nehra, who was down with a viral infection. Amay Khurasia came in place of Hemang Badani.Sri Lanka retained the squad which had beaten New Zealand by 16 runs in the opening match on Wednesday. The teams: India: Saurav Ganguly (captain), Amay Khurasia, Yuvraj Singh, Venkat Sai Laxman, Rahul Dravid, Sameer Dighe, Reetinder Sodhi, Debashish Mohanty, Zaheer Khan, Harbhajan Singh and Virender Shewag.12th man: Hemang Badani.Sri Lanka: Sanath Jayasuriya (captain), Marvan Atapattu, Romesh Kaluwitharana, Russel Arnold, Mahela Jayawardene, Avishka Gunawardene, Chaminda Vaas, Suresh Perera, Dilhara Fernando, Kumar Dharmasena and Muthiah Muralitharan. 12th man: Kumar Sangakkara.Umpires: Peter Manuel and T H Wijewardena. TV umpire: Gamini Silva.Match-referee: Cammie Smith.

Copyright AFP 2001


Write Comments