Online cricket News | Current Events | India News | Current Affairs

Published: Wednesday, July 25, 2001, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Galle (Sri Lanka): Sri Lanka's captain Sanath Jayasuriya won the toss and sent India to bat in the first cricket Test in Galle on August 14.

[an error occurred while processing this directive]Sri Lanka has added a fourth seamer, Suresh Perera, on the hard, grassy wicket that is expected to help the fast bowlers in the early stages of the match.

Perera came in for wicket-keeper Romesh Kaluwitharana, leaving Kumara Sangakkara to don the gloves.

India, without the injured Sachin Tendulkar, went in with six specialist batsmen in the first of the three back-to-back Tests.

However, as the game entered the fourth over, rain stopped play forcing the authorities to pull the covers-on.

Team Composition:

India: Sourav Ganguly (capt), Shiv Sunder Das, Sadagopan Ramesh, Mohammad Kaif, Rahul Dravid, Hemang Badani, Sameer Dighe, Javagal Srinath, Venkatesh Prasad, Zaheer Khan, Harbhajan Singh. 12th man: Harvinder Singh.

Sri Lanka: Sanath Jayasuriya (capt), Marvan Atapattu, Kumara Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardena, Russel Arnold, Hashan Tillekaratne, Chaminda Vaas, Suresh Perera, Dilhara Fernando, Muttiah Muralitharan, Ruchira Perera. 12th man: Thilan Samaraweera.

Umpires: Steve Bucknor (West Indies) and Asoka De Silva (Sri Lanka)

Match referee: Cammie Smith (West Indies)

Copyright AFP 2001


Write Comments