Thatscricket - News - Sri Lanka elects to bat on winning toss

Published: Saturday, July 28, 2001, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Colombo: Sri Lanka won the toss and elected to bat first against India in the sixth match of the triangular One-day cricket series here on Saturday. Sri Lanka made one change from the team, which had beaten New Zealand by five wickets on Wednesday, with Kumar Sangakkara replacing Avishka Gunawardene.India's left-handed batsman Amay Khurasia was called up in place of skipper Saurav Ganguly, suspended for this match for showing dissent during his team's 67-run defeat against New Zealand on Thursday. Rahul Dravid leads India, which has lost all of its three games.Sri Lanka and New Zealand have won three and two matches, respectively.Sri Lanka: Sanath Jaysuriya (captain), Marvan Atapattu, Romesh Kaluwitharana, Russel Arnold, Mahela Jayawardene, Kumar Sangakkara, Chaminda Vaas, Suresh Perera, Kumar Dharmasena, Muthiah Muralitharan and Dilhara Fernando. 12th man: Chamara Silva.India: Rahul Dravid (captain), Venkatsai Laxman, Virender Sehwag, Amay Khurasia, Yuvraj Singh, Hemang Badani, Reetinder Sodhi, Sameer Dighe, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan and Ashish Nehra. 12th man: Rahul Sanghvi.Umpires: Asoka de Silva and Peter Manuel. Third Umpire: Gamini Silva.Match-referee: Cammie Smith (West Indies).AFP

Copyright AFP 2001


Write Comments