Online cricket News | Current Events | India News | Current Affairs

Published: Sunday, August 5, 2001, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

[an error occurred while processing this directive]Colombo: New Zealand won the toss and elected to field first against Sri Lanka in the fifth match of the triangular One-day cricket series here on Tuesday.The match started two hours 45 minutes late due to rain and was reduced to 36 overs a side.New Zealand made one change from the team, which had beaten India by 67 runs on Thursday, with skipper Stephen Fleming coming in place of Lou Vincent. Fleming missed his team's last two matches due to a stomach upset.Sri Lanka replaced Kumar Sangakkara with left-handed batsman Avishka Gunawardene for the only change from the squad which had lost to India by seven wickets on Saturday.Sri Lanka, with three wins in four matches, leads the standings with six points. New Zealand has won two matches and India one.India will meet Sri Lanka on Wednesday and New Zealand the following day.New Zealand: Stephen Fleming (captain), Nathan Astle, Matthew Sinclair, Craig McMillan, Chris Harris, Jacob Oram, Adam Parore, Dion Nash, Daniel Vettori, Kyle Mills and Darryl Tuffey. 12th man: Grant Bradburn. Sri Lanka: Sanath Jayasuriya (captain), Romesh Kaluwitharana, Marvan Atapattu, Mahela Jayawardene, Russel Arnold, Avishka Gunawardene, Chaminda Vaas, Muthiah Muralitharan, Kumar Dharmasena, Suresh Perera and Dilhara Fernando. 12th man: Chamara Silva.

Copyright AFP 2001


Write Comments