Online cricket News | Current Events | India News | Current Affairs

Published: Monday, August 20, 2001, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

[an error occurred while processing this directive]Colombo: India lost the wicket of Virender Sehwag off the very first delivery bowled by Chaminda Vaas in a crucial match (for India) of the triangular One-day series on Wednesday. Sehwag was plumb in front of the wicket to a superb delivery from Vaas. Skipper Saurav Ganguly also continued his poor form to reduce Indian to 7 for two. Ganguly cut a rank bad delivery from Vaas straight into the hands off SangakkaraSri Lanka won the toss and elected to field. Sri Lanka made one change from the team which beat New Zealand by 106 runs on Tuesday, with Kumar Sangakkara taking the place of left-handed opener Avishka Gunawardene.Saurav Ganguly was back to lead India after serving a one-match suspension, replacing left-handed batsman Amay Khurasiya from the squad, which had beaten the hosts by seven wickets on Saturday.Sri Lanka has already qualified for the August 5 final with four victories in five matches. New Zealand has won two games and India one.India will meet New Zealand in the last league match on Thursday.India: Saurav Ganguly (captain), Virender Sehwag, Rahul Dravid, Venkatsai Laxman, Yuvraj Singh, Hemang Badani, Reetinder Sodhi, Sameer Dighe, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan and Ashish Nehra. 12th man: Ajit Agarkar.Sri Lanka: Sanath Jayasuriya (captain), Romesh Kaluwitharana, Marvan Atapattu, Mahela Jayawardene, Russel Arnold, Kumar Sangakkara, Chaminda Vaas, Dilhara Fernando, Suresh Perera, Muttiah Muralitharan and Kumar Dharmasena. 12th man: Chamara Silva.Umpires: Asoka de Silva and Gamini Silva. TV Umpire: T. H. Wijewardena.Match referee: Cammie Smith (West Indies).

Copyright AFP 2001

India's tour of Sri Lanka

Write Comments