Thatscricket - News - Cricket: Saurav Ganguly elects to bat on winning toss

Published: Wednesday, August 29, 2001, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Colombo: Indian captain Saurav Ganguly won the toss and elected to bat in the third and decisive cricket Test against Sri Lanka on Wednesday. The rivals go into the decider at the Sinhalese Sports Club (SSC) ground locked 1-1 in the series.Sri Lanka made two changes from the side that lost the second Test at Kandy by seven wickets, dropping the two Pereras, Ruchira and Suresh.In their place came debutant off spinner Thilan Samaraweera and fast bowler Dulip Liyanage.Sri Lanka omitted young batsman Michael Vandort at the last minute, preferring to go in with the experience of Hashan Tillekeratne for the crucial tie.India added a second spinner in leggie Sairaj Bahutule at the expense of seamer Harvinder Singh.Sri Lanka: Sanath Jayasuriya (captain), Marvan Atapattu, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardena, Russel Arnold, Hashan Tillekeratne, Chaminda Vaas, Dilhara Fernando, Dulip Liyanage, Muthiah Muralitharan and Thilan Samaraweera. 12th man: Michael Vandort.India: Saurav Ganguly (captain), Rahul Dravid, Shiv Das, Sadagopan Ramesh, Mohammad Kaif, Hemang Badani, Sameer Dighe, Venkatesh Prasad, Zaheer Khan, Sairaj Bahutule and Harbhajan Singh. 12th man: Harvinder Singh.Umpires: David Orchard (South Africa) and Asoka De Silva (Sri Lanka).Match referee: Cammie Smith (West Indies).

Copyright AFP 2001

India keyed up to break overseas jinx
Emphasis on spin in India-Lanka decider
India's tour of Sri Lanka

Write Comments