Kenya wins toss, elects to bat against India

Published: Saturday, October 13, 2001, 0:24 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Bloemfontein: Kenya won the toss and decided to bat in its triangular Limited Overs series day-night match against India at Springbok Park on Friday.Batsman Jacob Martin was included in the Indian side in place of Shiv Sunder Das in the only change from the side that beat South Africa by 41 runs at Centurion on Wednesday. Indian captain Saurav Ganguly said Das was still suffering from the effects of a blow on the back of his head while fielding at short-leg on Wednesday. Kenya made one change from the team that was beaten by seven wickets by South Africa in Benoni on Sunday, with medium-pace bowler Jimmy Kamande picked ahead of left-arm spin Brijal Patel. Teams: India: Saurav Ganguly (captain), Sachin Tendulkar, Jacob Martin, Rahul Dravid, Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh, Deep Dasgupta, Anil Kumble, Ajit Agarkar, Harbhajan Singh and Javagal Srinath. Kenya: Maurice Odumbe (captain), Kennedy Otieno, Ravindu Shah, David Otieno, Steve Tikolo, Thomas Odoyo, Martin Suji, Tony Suji, Collins Otieno, Peter Ochieng and Jimmy Kamande. Umpires: Dave Orchard and Shahid Wadvalla. TV umpire: Wilf Diedricks (RSA). Match referee: Ahmed Ebrahim (Zim).

AFP Copyright AFP 2001

Write Comments