Karnataka triumphs in SZ Championships

Published: Sunday, October 21, 2001, 20:51 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Bangalore: The Karnataka women's team defeated defending champion Andhra Pradesh in the senior South Zone Championships held at National Aerospace Laboratories ground in Bangalore on October 10.
Karnataka posted a 15-run win over Andhra, the defending champions since 1995. The hosts made a modest score of 133 all out in their stipulated 50 overs. Thatscricket.com's Mamatha Maben (47) and Karuna Jain (22) were the top contributors for the hosts. For Andhra Savitha Kumari (three for 30) and Diana David (two for 31) were the main wicket-takers. In reply Andhra began shakily, losing its first four wickets for just 40 runs. A partnership between Diana David (28) and Monica (25) revived Andhra's hopes. But left arm seamer Pooja Shah (three for 18) and leg spinner Deepika Babu (four for 23) stuck repeatedly for Karnataka to dismiss Andhra for 118 in 46.3 overs. In the other tie between Tamil Nadu and Kerala at St John's Medical ground, Tamil Nadu defeated Kerala by 44 runs to finish third.

Karnataka, Andhra off to winning starts
Karnataka scores big win over TN
IR to clash with AI for National title
Post your views

Write Comments