TN lifts Gopalan trophy by virtue of 1st inning lead

Published: Tuesday, October 23, 2001, 2:29 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Chennai: Tamil Nadu won the M J Gopalan trophy by virtue of its first innings lead when the four-day match against Colombo District Association (CDA) ended in a draw in Chennai on Monday.
Tamil Nadu, overnight 154 for three, declared its second innings at 178 for four in 59 overs in order to try for an outright win against the visitors, which was to make 377 to win. But the visitors could take only 206 for four in 73 overs when the play was called off at the end of the eighth mandatory over. The Tamil Nadu opener S Sriram added four runs to his overnight score before being caught by Dinusha Fernando of Tilan Samaraweera. When Tamil Nadu declared Its second innings, left-handed S Sharath (20) and T R Arasu (6) were at the crease. Samaraweera took two for 49 and Rangana Herath and Dinusha Fernando took a wicket each. In Colombo's second innings, Tamil Nadu medium pacer, L Balaji dismissed opener Jehan Mubarak for 7 and Ashish Kapoor scalped Michael Vandort (28), leaving CDA at 51 for two. At this stage, opener Ian Daniels and Tilakaratne Dilsan resisted the Tamil Nadu attack and put on 98 runs in 26.1overs for the second wicket before the latter was caught at silly-point off spinner Ram Kumar for 56. Daniels remained unbeaten with 77 when play was drawn and Tilan Samaraweera (not out 4) was giving him company. The visitors lost the wicket of P Jayawardane (16) cheaply when the batsman offered a straight forward catch at mid-on to Balaji of M R Srinivas.

Post your views

Write Comments