Hayward named in SA squad for 1st Test vs Ind

Published: Sunday, October 28, 2001, 0:10 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Durban: Fast bowler Mornantau Hayward was on Saturday named in the South African squad for the first Test against India in Bloemfontein from November 3 to 7.Hayward, 24, lost form after playing in six Tests during 1999 and 2000 but has burst back into form this season at the same time as South Africa's main fast bowling hopes, Allan Donald and Mfuneko Ngam, have been ruled out by injuries. Hayward took two for 38 in helping South Africa win the final of triangular Limited Overs series in Durban on Friday, including the key wicket of Indian batting star Sachin Tendulkar. Also recalled for South Africa is left-arm spinner Nicky Boje, who missed a recent series against Zimbabwe because of injury. The Indians, meanwhile, were planning to regroup after a disappointing performance on Friday. "The Tests will be completely different," said Indian captain Saurav Ganguly. India will play a three-day match against Presidents XI at Chatsworth, outside Durban, starting on Monday and it is expected inexperienced opening batsmen Shiv Sunder Das and Connor Williams will launch their innings. Ganguly said he and Tendulkar would drop down the order for the three-match Test series after opening in the One-day games. The uncapped Williams, together with wicket-keeper Sameer Dighe and left-arm fast bowlers Zaheer Khan and Ashish Nehra, have joined the Indian party for the Test series, while One-day players Jacob Martin, Yuvraj Singh, Reetinder Sodhi and Harvinder Singh were due to depart for India on Saturday. The teams: South Africa: Shaun Pollock (captain), Gary Kirsten, Herschelle Gibbs, Jacques Kallis, Neil McKenzie, Boeta Dippenaar, Lance Klusener, Mark Boucher, Nicky Boje, Mornantau Hayward, Makhaya Ntini and Charl Langeveldt. India (from): Saurav Ganguly (captain), Rahul Dravid (vice-captain), Shiv Sunder Das, Connor Williams, Sachin Tendulkar, Venkat Sai Laxman, Virender Sehwag, Sameer Dighe, Deep Dasgupta, Harbhajan Singh, Anil Kumble, Ajit Agarkar, Venkatesh Prasad, Zaheer Khan, Ashish Nehra and Javagal Srinath.

AFP Copyright AFP 2001

Write Comments