Online cricket News | Current Events | India News | Current Affairs

Published: Tuesday, November 20, 2001, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Bangalore: Leg spinner Anil Kumble's leadership quality would be under close scrutiny as the Hero Honda N K P Salve Challenger Trophy tournament gets underway on Thursday sans three stars, including Sachin Tendulkar.[an error occurred while processing this directive]The absence of Tendulkar, Rahul Dravid and Javagal Srinath has robbed some sheen off the tournament, which will feature India Seniors, India 'A' and India 'B' in a round robin format with the top two teams facing off in the final on Sunday.But the imminent selection of the team for the One-dayers against England is expected to raise competitive fervour among the fringe players in the Limited Overs tournament, all day-night affairs, with fixtures starting daily at 2.30 pm (IST).Dravid has also pulled out of the One-day series against England to undergo treatment for his shoulder discomfort, while Tendulkar has been given a "break" and Srinath is on rest-list for the tournament.The comment of Selection Committee Chairman Chandu Borde after the Test series against England that Kumble's leadership would be watched in the Tournament has focussed attention on the spin wizard, who is flying high after becoming the first Indian spinner to record 300 Test wickets.India skipper Saurav Ganguly is leading India Seniors but it remains to be seen if he will play all the games. V V S Laxman would marshal India 'A', having been plucked out of India Seniors team and replacing Dravid, while Kumble would be at the helm of affairs of India 'B'. For his part, Ganguly, who had a lean patch as a batsman in the recent Test series against England, would be looking to regain form.Meanwhile, the Indian Seniors team would have only 12 players. BCCI Secretary Niranjan Shan said last week the selectors have decided against picking a replacement for Laxman.The teams: India Seniors: : Saurav Ganguly (captain), S S Das,Virender Sehwag, Hemang Badani, Sanjay Bangar, Deep Dasgupta (wicket-keeper), Harbhajan Singh, Sunil Joshi, Tinu Yohannan, Iqbal Siddique, Debashis Mohanty and Jacob Martin.India 'A': V V S Laxman (captain), Connor Williams, Daniel Manohar, Rohan Gavaskar, Sangram Singh, Yuvraj Singh, AjayRathra (wicket-keeper), Reetinder Sodhi, Murali Karthik, Zaheer Khan, Ajit Agarkar, Sarandeep Singh and Sitanshu Kotak.India B: Anil Kumble (captain), Mohammed Kaif, SridharanSriram, Dinesh Mongia, Hrishikesh Kanitkar, Arjun Yadav, Z Zufari, Vijay Bharadwaj, Pankaj Dharmani (wicket-keeper), Ashish Nehra, S Pandey, Amit Bhandari and Devendra Bundela.The schedule: January 10: India Seniors vs India 'A'; January 11: India Seniors vs India 'B'; January 12: India 'A' vsIndia 'B'; January 13: final. PTI

English cricketers arrive in Kolkata on Jan 11
Indian One-day team to be picked on Jan 13
England's tour of India

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Write Comments