I was misunderstood: Denness, was he?
Published: Wednesday, November 28, 2001, 18:44 [IST]
Official ICC statement on Denness' decision as received by Thatscricket.com: Mike Denness, the ICC match referee appointed for the Castle Lager/MTN Test matches of the Summer Spice Series between South Africa and India, held four separate hearings with members of the Indian team yesterday (November 20) and made the following findings: 1. Sachin Tendulkar: For alleged interference with the match ball, thus changing its condition. Match Referee Decision: By acting on the match ball, Mr Tendulkar brought the game into disrepute (ICC Players and Team Officials Code No 2) and has been fined 75 per cent of his match fee, plus a one-Test Match ban. The ban will be suspended until the last day of December 2001. Players and Team Officials Code No 2: "Players and/or team officials shall at no time engage in conduct unbecoming to their status which could bring them or the game of cricket into disrepute." Extras:
ICC sets deadline for BCCI to fall in line
Match referee hauls Indian players
Sachin cleared of 'tampering' controversy
Replace Denness or hold his ruling
Denness reveals details on his decision
New Delhi: English match referee Mike Denness clarified that he had not charged Indian superstar Sachin Tendulkar with tampering with the ball and said his decision was misunderstood, according to an AFP report on Wednesday. "Tampering seems to be the instant word that everyone wants to use," Denness told the 'Hindu' newspaper in his first reaction to the verdicts that snowballed into a major crisis in the cricket world. "Tendulkar was punished not for tampering with the ball, but for failing to call up an umpire to supervise his attempts to clean the ball," Denness was quoted as saying. Denness, a former England captain, created a furore when he charged Tendulkar and five other Indians for irregularities during the second Test against South Africa at Port Elizabeth earlier this month. He was later dumped by India and South Africa for the final Test at Centurion Park, forcing the International Cricket Council (ICC) to declare the match unofficial. Denness' latest remarks contradict his own statement, released through the ICC last week, that Tendulkar had been punished for "alleged interference with the match ball, thus changing its condition". The ICC said Tendulkar had "brought the game into disrepute by acting on the ball". He was fined 75 per cent of his match fees and handed a one-match suspended ban.