Tendulkar not guilty of ball tampering: ICC

Published: Thursday, November 29, 2001, 4:25 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

London: In a sudden climb down, the International Cricket Council (ICC) on Wednesday night exonerated Sachin Tendulkar of ball-tampering charges saying that he had been guilty of merely not informing the umpires that he was cleaning the ball during the second Test against South Africa last week.The master batsman had been handed down a suspended one-match ban and a fine by controversial match-referee Mike Denness at Port Elizabeth for not informing the umpires that he was removing grass from the seam of the ball, the ICC said. "Sachin Tendulkar has not been found guilty of ball tampering. The punishment was for removing grass from the ball without having informed the umpires, which is very different from ball tampering," ICC spokesman Jonathan Hamus said in London. This clarification is in sharp contrast to the official statement issued by Denness after imposing penalties against the master batsman and five other Indian players. Extras:
We'll not play if Sehwag plays: ECB
BCCI snubs ICC, Sehwag picked
ICC hopeful of reaching negotiated settlement
Was Denness misunderstood?

Write Comments