England tour of India - Cricket: Sharandeep in, Yohannan out; Eng bats

Published: Wednesday, December 19, 2001, 15:11 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Bangalore: England captain Nasser Hussain won the toss and elected to bat in the third and final Test against India at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium on Wednesday. The match has been delayed by half an hour and will commence at 10.00 am on all days.The Indians made a predictable change by bringing in the second off spinner Sharandeep Singh into the squad. Sharandeep replaced Tinu Yohannan in the only change that the Indians made in the squad. The inclusion of Sharandeep, the third spinner, indicates that the new wicket could aid spin.The teams: India: Saurav Ganguly (captain), Shiv Sunder Das, Deep Dasgupta, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, V V S Laxman, Virender Sehwag, Anil Kumble, Harbhajan Singh, Javagal Srinath and Sharandeep Singh. 12th man: Connor Williams.England: Nasser Hussain (captain), Mark Butcher, Marcus Trescothick, Mark Ramprakash, Andrew Flintoff, Craig White, James Foster, Richard Dawson, Mathew Hoggard, Michael Vaughan and Ashley Giles. 12th man: Usman Afzaal.Umpires: A V Jayaprakash and Ashoka De Silva (Sri Lanka).Third umpire: Francis Gomes.Match referee: Dennis Lindsay (South Africa).


Write Comments