Challenger Trophy series in a nutshell

Published: Thursday, January 10, 2002, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

The Challenger Trophy annual One-day tournament was first introduced by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) during 1994/95 as a measure to keep track with the preparation of India's Limited Over International commitments.

The tournament was named after NKP Salve, former President of the BCCI, in 1998/99 and is being held as NKP Salve Challenger Trophy from then onwards. Since then a total of 25 matches have been held up to and including 2000/01. In 1998/99 when the matches were held in Ahemdabad, only the opening match between India 'A' and India Senior took place. India 'A' won and the rest of the matches were abandoned due to rain. By virtue of points India 'A' and India 'B' were declared as joint winners of the trophy. The abandoned matches have not been considered for the statistical purposes. Apart from the above, India Seniors have monopolised the tournament and won it on all other occasions viz., six times. For the first time Bangalore is hosting this tournament from January 10 and becomes the seventh venue to do so - the others being Calcutta, Hyderabad, Mohali, Mumbai, Ahemdabad and Chennai. Ahemdabad is the only venue to host this tournament twice - in 1998/99 and 1999/00. In all this is the 8th version of the tournament. The result of the 25 matches played in the tournament is as under:

India Seniors1915 4
India 'A'18810
India 'B'13211
Statistical insights of Challenger TrophyHighest Total: 392 for six in 50.0 overs India Senior vs India 'B' at Chennai on 13/02/2001. Lowest Total: 110 in 38.0 overs India 'B' vs India 'A' at Hyderabad on 30/12/1995. Highest Individual Score: 142 S C Ganguly, India Senior vs India 'B' at Chennai on 13/02/2001. Best Bowling: 6 for 39 S L V Raju, India 'A' vs India Senior at Hyderabad on 28/12/1995. Most runs in a series: 238 in 3 matches by H K Badani for India Senior in 2000/01 Most runs in the tournament: 695 by R S Dravid in 16 matches at the rate of 49.64. Most wickets in a series: 11 by S L V Raju at the rate of 7.81 with 6 for 39 as best for India 'A' in 1995/96. Most extras conceded in an innings (30 or more): 35 by India Senior vs India 'A' (wicket-keeper V Rathore) at Chennai on 12.02.2001; 35 by India 'B' vs India Senior (wicket-keeper V Dahiya) at Chennai on 13.02.2001; 31 by India Senior vs India 'B' w/k: (wicket-keeper V Dahiya) at Chennai on 13.02.2001. Most extras conceded in a match (50&above): 66 by India 'B' (35) and India Senior (31) at Chennai on 13.02.2001. 53 by India Senior (35) and India 'A' (18) at Chennai on 12.02.2001. Most catches by a fielder in an innings: Three catches by Ashu Dani, India 'A' vs India Senior at Ahemdabad on 13.02.2000. Extras:
England in India

Write Comments