Published: Thursday, February 21, 2002, 17:42 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Nagpur: Zimbabwe had meandered to 60 for one at lunch on the opening day of the first Test against India at the Vidharbha Cricket Association ground on Thursday. Alistair Campbell (28) and Stuart Carlisle (22) were at the crease. India got an early wicket when left-arm medium pacer Zaheer Khan had opener Trevor Gripper caught behind by wicket-keeper Deep Dasgupta off a delivery that moved a shade outside the off stump. The Zimbabweans then began to slowly, but steadily build their innings with Stuart Carlisle and Alistair Campbell giving nothing away against the four-pronged Indian bowling attack supported by all-rounder Sanjay Bangar.

Though the scoring rate was perceptibly slow, the Zimbabweans ensured that they had not lost further wickets. Earlier, Zimbabwe captain Carlisle won the toss and elected to bat. The Indians opted for all-rounder Sanjay Bangar instead of hard hitting Virender Sehwag in the middle order. Young Tatenda Taibu as expected was named to keep wickets for Zimbabwe instead of Andy Flower, who will shoulder the responsibility of the senior most batsman.

India: Saurav Ganguly (captain), Shiv Sunder Das, Deep Dasgupta, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, V V S Laxman, Sanjay Bangar, Anil Kumble, Harbhajan Singh, Javagal Srinath and Zaheer Khan.

Zimbabwe: Stuart Carlisle (captain), Trevor Gripper, Gavin Rennie, Andy Flower, Alistair Campbell, Grant Flower, Heath Streak, Tatenda Taibu, Travis Friend, Ray Price and Brighton Watambwa.

Umpires: David Shepherd and S Venkatraghavan.

Third umpire: Jasbir Singh.

Match-referee: John Reid (New Zealand).

Write Comments