West Indies calls up 4 new faces for India series

Published: Thursday, March 14, 2002, 17:08 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Bridgetown (Barbados): West Indies cricket selectors drafted in four new caps and recalled two players from the wilderness in a 22-strong squad named on Wednesday for the forthcoming One-day and Test series' against India.

Opening batsman Devon Smith, off-spin all-rounder Gareth Breese, along with fast bowlers Adam Sanford and Darrell Powell are the four newcomers picked for the five Tests and five Limited Overs Internationals against the Indians. Opening batsman Stuart Williams and wicket-keeper/batsman Junior Murray, two players who have not featured in recent selections, have also been included in the squad that will be encamped in Trinidad between March 21 and 28. Former West Indies captain Brian Lara and Ramnaresh Sarwan, two players who are fit again after recovering from injury, have been picked in the squad. Lara has only started net practice following a near three-month break from the game. The world record-breaking batsman had his right elbow dislocated during a Limited Overs International against Sri Lanka last December. Sarwan returned to cricket during Guyana's final preliminary match against Leeward Islands after a two-month break. The diminutive right-hander pulled out of the team's training camp just prior to the series against Pakistan with a back injury. Williams, who was a member of the 1999 World Cup team, played the last of his 28 Tests against South Africa at Port Elizabeth four years ago. Murray, who has played 31 Tests and 55 Limited Overs Internationals, but has not featured for West Indies since the 1998-99 tour of South Africa, has also earned a recall after scoring heavily in the domestic championship. The squad: Carl Hooper (captain), Marlon Black, Gareth Breese, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Pedro Collins, Cameron Cuffy, Mervyn Dillon, Daren Ganga, Chris Gayle, Ryan Hinds, Wavell Hinds, Ridley Jacobs, Brian Lara, Runako Morton, Junior Murray, Mahendra Nagamootoo, Darrell Powell, Dinanath Ramnarine, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Devon Smith, Adam Sanford and Stuart Williams.

Ganguly retained skipper for West Indies tour
Kumble rested for last two one-dayers against Zim

Write Comments