West Indies bats first, Sanford makes debut

Published: Friday, April 12, 2002, 1:22 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Georgetown (Guyana): West Indies skipper Carl Hooper elected to bat after winning the toss in the opening Test against India at Bourda on Thursday. India went into the match without off spinner Harbhajan Singh, yet to recover from a shoulder injury sustained during a three-day fixture here on Sunday. Harbhajan has been replaced with fellow spinner Sharandeep Singh. West Indies included three fast bowlers - Mervyn Dillon, Cameron Cuffy and debutant Adam Sanford - and one spinner in Mahendra Nagamootoo. Teams: West Indies: Carl Hooper (captain), Chris Gayle, Stuart Williams, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Brian Lara, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Junior Murray, Mervyn Dillon, Cameron Cuffy, Adam Sanford and Mahendra Nagamootoo. India: Saurav Ganguly (captain), Shiv Sunder Das, Deep Dasgupta, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, Venkatsai Laxman, Anil Kumble, Sharandeep Singh, Javagal Srinath, Zaheer Khan and Sanjay Bangar. Umpires: Asoka de Silva (Sri Lanka) and Daryl Harper (Australia). Match referee: Ranjan Madugalle (Sri Lanka).

Injured Harbhajan ruled out of first Test
Two held for betting on Sharjah ties: Delhi police
Thatscricket Special: India's Caribbean Adventure

Write Comments