Hooper puts India to bat; Jaffer replaces Bangar

Published: Friday, May 3, 2002, 1:30 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Bridgetown: West Indies skipper Carl Hooper elected to field after winning the toss in the third Test against India at the Kensington Oval on Thursday.

India leads 1-0 in the five-match series following its 37-run victory over the West Indies in the second Test at Port-of-Spain in Trinidad. India included opener Wasim Jaffer in place of all-rounder Sanjay Bangar for the only change from the team that played the second Test. The West Indies made two changes, replacing wicket-keeper Junior Murray and Marlon Black with Ridley Jacobs and Pedro Collins. The teams: India: Saurav Ganguly (captain), Shiv Das, Wasim Jaffer, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, Venkat Sai Laxman, Ajay Ratra, Harbhajan Singh, Javagal Srinath, Zaheer Khan and Ashish Nehra. West Indies: Carl Hooper (captain), Chris Gayle, Stuart Williams, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Brian Lara, Shivnaraine Chanderpaul, Ridley Jacobs, Mervyn Dillon, Adam Sanford, Cameron Cuffy and Pedro Collins. Umpires: Asoka de Silva (Sri Lanka) and Daryl Harper (Australia). Match-referee: Ranjan Madugalle (Sri Lanka).

Indian cricketers return to the Oval of horror
Tendulkar concentrates better, thinks more: Sobers

Write Comments