Srinath rested; Sehwag, Karthik return to ODI squad

Published: Wednesday, May 15, 2002, 22:03 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Mumbai: Delhi batsman Virender Sehwag and Railways spinner Murali Karthik were among the five new players named in India's team to play five One-day matches against West Indies starting on May 25.

Middle-order batsmen Mohmmad Kaif, Yuvraj Singh and pacer Ajit Agarkar were the other three players, who were selected in the squad of 15, selection committee convenor and Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) secretary Niranjan Shah told reporters. The selectors have rested pace bowler Javagal Srinath. The other players from the team, now playing in the Test series, who will return are Wasim Jaffer, Sanjay Bangar, Shiv Sunder Das, Deep Dasgupta and Sharandeep Singh.

Karthik, now touring Sri Lanka with the India 'A' team will fly to the Caribbean from there and off-spinner Sharandeep Singh will replace him in the 'A' team. As per the new declared policy of the BCCI, selection committee chairman Chandu Borde did not meet the press and Niranjan Shah said he couldn't speak either. Shah also said BCCI has nominated legendary off spinner E A S Prasanna as supplementary match referee to ICC. He also said two umpires - A V Jayaprakash of Karnataka and K Hariharan of Delhi - were nominated to the ICC umpires panel.

The team:Saurav Ganguly (captain), Rahul Dravid (vice-captain), Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag, V V S Laxman, Dinesh Mongia, Mohammed Kaif, Yuvraj Singh, Ajay Ratra, Zaheer Khan, Ajit Agarkar, Murali Kartik, Harbhajan Singh, Ashish Nehra and Tinu Yohanan.

Write Comments