Razzaq, Saqlain to miss series against Australians

Published: Thursday, May 23, 2002, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Karachi: Pakistan on Thursday announced a 14-man team for the One-day series against World Champions Australia next month with all-rounder Abdul Razzaq and off spinner Saqlain Mushtaq missing.

"We have selected the best possible team for a series against the best team in the world," chief selector Wasim Bari told reporters. Razzaq, who won the player-of-the- series award in a tri-series in Australia two years ago, is making his debut for English county Middlesex. Saqlain is busy playing for Surrey and neither was available for selection, Bari said. Pakistan plays two indoor Limited Over Internationals at the Colonial Stadium in Melbourne on June 12 and 15 before moving to Brisbane for the third match on June 19. The series is billed as the 'clash of giants' after Pakistan finished runners-up to Australia in the last World Cup held in England three years ago. It would also set the tempo for next year's World Cup to be held in South Africa. "It will be a good learning experience for youngsters in Australia and all-rounder Azhar Mahmood and off spinner Shoaib Mallik will get exposure in place of Razzaq and Saqlain," Bari said. Waqar Younis was retained as captain for the One-day series. The 14-man squad will assemble at Gadafi Stadium in Lahore on May 29 for a short training camp before leaving for Australia on June 5. Australia has already named its squad with Ricky Ponting the captain. Pakistan and Australia are scheduled to play a series in Pakistan later this year, also involving New Zealand, but this is now in doubt after a bomb blast in Karachi on May 8. The Australian Cricket Board (ACB) says it is monitoring the situation in Pakistan before taking a final decision but has hinted at playing the series at a neutral venue. Pakistan Squad: Waqar Younis (captain), Inzamam-ul-Haq (vice-captain), Saeed Anwar, Imran Nazir, Shahid Afridi, Yousuf Youhana, Younis Khan, Rashid Latif, Azhar Mahmood, Wasim Akram, Shoaib Malik, Shoaib Akhtar, Misbahul Haq and Mohammad Sami.

Thatsspecial: India's Caribbean Adventure

Write Comments