Ganguly elects to bat; Tendulkar replaces Laxman

Published: Monday, June 3, 2002, 1:12 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Port-of-Spain: India skipper Saurav Ganguly elected to bat after winning the toss in the fifth and final One-day International against the West Indies at the Queen's Park Oval on Sunday.

The five-match series is currently tied at 1-1, with India winning the third game by seven wickets at Bridgetown on Wednesday and losing the fourth by the same margin on Saturday. The first two One-dayers in Jamaica were rained off without a ball being bowled. India made two changes from the team that lost the 25-overs-a-side game on Saturday, replacing Venkat Sai Laxman and Tinu Yohannan with Sachin Tendulkar and Ashish Nehra. Tendulkar missed the fourth One-dayer due to a shoulder injury. The West Indies retained its squad. The teams: India: Saurav Ganguly (captain), Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag, Dinesh Mongia, Rahul Dravid, Mohammad Kaif, Yuvraj Singh, Ajit Agarkar, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan and Ashish Nehra. West Indies: Carl Hooper (captain), Chris Gayle, Wavell Hinds, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Brian Lara, Shivnaraine Chanderpaul, Ridley Jacobs, Mervyn Dillon, Cameron Cuffy, Pedro Collins and Corey Collymore. Umpires: Eddie Nichols (West Indies) and Russell Tiffin (Zimbabwe). Match-referee: Mike Proctor (South Africa).

We just didn't play well enough to win: Ganguly
West Indian 'Gale' sweeps India down under

Write Comments