Tendulkar named among year~~s six best by peers

Published: Thursday, June 27, 2002, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

New Delhi: India's master batsman Sachin Tendulkar and versatile spinner Muthiah Muralitharan of Sri Lanka are among six players nominated by their peers for the International Cricketer-of-the-Year award, officials said on Thursday.

Jacques Kallis (South Africa), Adam Gilchrist and Matthew Hayden (Australia) as well as Mahela Jayawardene (Sri Lanka) are the other nominees of the Federation of International Cricketers Associations (FICA). The winner will be announced at the FICA International Awards dinner in London on July 10. Past winners of the prestigious awards were Australia's Test captain Steve Waugh in 1998, West Indian great Brian Lara in 1999, Australian fast bowler Glenn McGrath in 2000 and Zimbabwe's prolific batsman Andy Flower in 2001. There are four nominees for the 'Young Cricketer-of-the-Year' award: India's dashing batsman Virender Sehwag, English seamer Matthew Hoggard, West Indian batsman Ramnaresh Sarwan and Sri Lanka's wicket-keeper batsman Kumar Sangakkara. Australia's brilliant Test and One-day squads and the Sri Lankan Test team were nominated for the 'International Team-of-the-Year' award. Former Australian off spinner Tim May, who is the joint chief executive of the FICA, said the awards were a celebration of cricket worldwide. "International cricket, both Test matches and One-day internationals, commands a huge worldwide audience," May said in a statement. "The FICA Pricewaterhouse Coopers International Awards recognise the elite of international talent and are truly a celebration of cricket on a global scale." Three unnamed former cricketers will be named at the dinner for induction in the FICA Hall of Fame that already has 55 players on its roll of honour. There are three nominees for the "FICA Wisden place in history" awards: Australian openers Justin Langer and Matthew Hayden for their four double century partnerships in six Test matches. New Zealand's Nathan Astle for scoring the fastest double century during the series against England earlier this year. Australian leg spin wizard Shane Warne for claiming six for 161 in 70 overs in his 100th Test match. There is also a FICA Slazenger "international sheer instinct" award with four nominees for a particularly heroic performance: England's Mark Butcher for his unbeaten 173 against Australia at Headingley. Pakistani captain and fast bowler Waqar Younis for claiming seven for 36 in a One- dayer against England. England all-rounder Andrew Flintoff for snatching victory against India in a One- dayer at Bombay. Steve Waugh's comeback 100 against England.

ICC set to salvage Test Championship programme
Thatscricket Special: English Summer

Write Comments