Ganguly elects to bat; England makes two changes

Published: Friday, July 5, 2002, 0:40 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Chester-Le-Street (England): India named an unchanged side for its triangular series One-day International against England on Thursday.

India captain Saurav Ganguly won the toss and elected to bat first, keeping faith with the team that beat Sri Lanka by four wickets at The Oval on Sunday. Meanwhile Michael Vaughan and Ashley Giles were drafted into England's side for this day-night fixture. Vaughan came in for Graham Thorpe, sidelined with an ankle injury, as England altered its middle order. Yorkshire batsman Vaughan has not played Limited Overs cricket for his country since he scored 59 in England's victory over New Zealand in Auckland in February.

But as one Yorkshireman came into the side for this day-night fixture so another was left out. Pace bowler Matthew Hoggard, who conceded 53 runs from his four overs against Sri Lanka in England's last match, was dropped and replaced by Warwickshire left-arm spinner Ashley Giles. All-rounder Paul Collingwood retained his place to become the first Durham player to represent his country on his home ground while veteran wicket-keeper-batsman Alec Stewart chalked up his 150th England One-day appearance. Both teams have won twice to top the table although India has played two games to England's three. Sri Lanka has lost all its three matches played in the tournament thus far.

The teams: England: Hussain (captain), Marcus Trescothick, Nick Knight, Nasser Michael Vaughan, Alec Stewart (wicket-keeper), Ronnie Irani, Andrew Flintoff, Paul Collingwood, Ashley Giles, Darren Gough, James Kirtley.

India: Saurav Ganguly (captain), Virender Sehwag, Dinesh Mongia, Sachin Tendulkar, Rahul Dravid (wicket-keeper), Yuvraj Singh, Mohammad Kaif, Ajit Agarkar, Anil Kumble, Zaheer Khan and Ashish Nehra.

Umpires: David Orchard (RSA), David Shepherd (England).

Third umpire: Jeremy Lloyds (England).

Match referee: Mike Procter (RSA).

Write Comments