Jayasuriya elects to bat, Tudor to make his debut

Published: Sunday, July 7, 2002, 21:19 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Manchester: Sri Lankan skipper Sanath Jayasuriya won the toss and opted to bat first against England at Old Trafford on Sunday.

Alex Tudor replaces the injured James Kirtley to make his debut, and spinner Jeremy Snape comes in for Ashley Giles for England, while Nuwan Zoysa and batsman Chamara Silva return for the tourists.

The teams: England: Nasser Hussain (captain), Marcus Trescothick, Nick Knight, Michael Vaughan, Ronnie Irani, Paul Collingwood, Alec Stewart, Andrew Flintoff, Jeremy Snape, Darren Gough and Alex Tudor.

Sri Lanka: Sanath Jayasuriya (captain), Marvan Atapattu, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene, Russel Arnold, Chamara Silva, Thilan Samaraweera, Upul Chandana, Chaminda Vaas, Nuwan Zoysa and Pramodya Wickramasinghe.

Umpires:Dave Orchard, Peter Willey.

Write Comments