India amasses highest score on foreign soil at Leeds

Published: Thursday, August 29, 2002, 2:26 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

India amassed a total of 628 for 8 declared in the first innings of the third Test against England at the Headingley, Leeds, on 23.08.2002- the second day of the Test, aided by centuries from Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar and Saurav Ganguly.

This was the eighth occasion in which a total of 600 in an innings had been recorded by India in its history of 359 Tests played including the Headingley Test. India thus surpassed its previous highest total in an away series which was 606 for 9 declared and incidentally this score had also been recorded earlier against England at The Oval in 1990.

On that occasion, the present TV commentator and former Test player Ravi Shastri had scored 187 coming as an opener and Kapil Dev coming at number 8 had scored a brilliant 110. India's highest remains 676 for 6 declared against Sri Lanka in the first Test at Kanpur in 1986/87. Following table indicates details of innings totals of 600&above by India in Tests.

Sl NoScorevsInnTestVenueSeries
1676-7 dSL1st1stKanpur1986-87
2657-7 dAus2nd2ndCalcutta2000-01
3644-7 dWI1st6thKanpur1978-79
4633-5 dAus1st2ndCalcutta1997-98
5609-6 dZim1st2ndNagpur2000-01
6606-9 dEng1st3rdThe Oval1990
7600-4 dAus1st3rdSydney (SCG)1985-86
8628-8 dEng1st3rdHeadingley2002India enforces follow-on: India enforced follow-on against England for the fifth time in its 90th Test between the two countries. India had in fact enforced follow-on against England in two consecutive Tests in 1992/93 at Calcutta and Chepauk and on both the occasions India had managed to romp home with a win. However in the instances at Kanpur in 1961/62 and at the Oval in 1990, England had hit back in the second innings to manage a draw after being followed on. While every one was anxious to know whether England would save the follow-on on the last day on 26.02.2002, the Indian bowlers cut short the England innings just after England added 70 runs to the overnight score of 239 for 4 and India won the Test by an innings and 46 runs. Though Nasser Hussain, the English skipper who was on unbeaten 90 the previous day, completed his well-deserved century he could not help his side from facing defeat. Following are the five instances in which India has enforced follow on against England:
1961/62KanpurInd467/8 dEng244&497/5DRAWN
1992/93CalcuttaInd371&82/2Eng163&286Ind won by 8 wkts
1992/93ChepaukInd560/6 dEng286&252Ind won by Ings&22 runs
1990The OvalInd606/9 dEng340&497/5DRAWN
2002HeadingleyInd628/8 dEng273&309Ind won by Ings&46 runsCentury by rival captains: A rare record was witnessed for India after a period of almost 12 years when Saurav Ganguly for India scored 128 in first innings and his counterpart Nasser Hussain scored 110 in England's second innings during the third Test at Headingley, Leeds, which ended in an innings victory for India at the stroke of lunch on 26.02.2002. This was the eighth instance for India in which rival captains had scored centuries during the course of its 359 Tests played from 1932. Incidentally it may be of interest to note here that the last occasion the feat of rival captains scoring a century involving India had also been against England in the second Test at Manchester in 1990 when Graham Gooch (116) of England and Mohammad Azharuddin (179) of India had scored centuries. In fact the feat achieved by them had been converted into a world record as in the previous Test at Lord's also both these batsmen had scored centuries and it was the first time that same two captains involving same sides had achieved the feat in successive Tests. Later Steve Waugh of Australia and Brian Lara of West Indies emulated this feat, when they recorded centuries in successive Tests at Kingston and Bridgetown in the 1998/99 series. Two other Indian captains other than Azharuddin have also been involved twice in such feats - Sunil Gavaskar and Kapil Dev, while for Saurav Ganguly this happens to be the first instance since assuming captaincy. Dilip Vengsarkar who also figures in this elite list has the distinction of having been associated in this record on his debut Test as captain. The following are the eight instances in which rival captains have scored centuries involving India as at the end of the Leeds Test on 26.08.2002:
SM GavaskarInd2051st TestBombay1978/79
AI KallicharanWI187   
SM GavaskarInd127*3rd TestFaisalabad1982/83
Imran KhanPak117   
CH LloydWI1432nd TestPort of Spain1982/83
Kapil DevInd100*   
Kapil DevInd1191st TestMadras1986/87
AR BorderAus106   
DB VengsarkarInd1021st TestDelhi1987/88
IVA RichardsWI109*   
GA GoochEng333/1231st TestLord's1990
M AzharuddinInd121   
GA GoochEng1162nd TestManchester1990
M AzharuddinInd179   
SC GangulyInd1283rd TestLeeds2002
Nasser HussainEng110   Three centuries in an innings: Rahul Dravid (148), Sachin Tendulkar (193) and skipper Saurav Ganguly (128) all scored centuries for India in the third Test at Headingley, Leeds which India won by an innings and 46 runs on 26.08.2002. The feat of scoring centuries by these 3 Indian players in the same innings against England had just been missed in the previous Test at Trent Bridge, Nottingham, when Rahul Dravid had scored 115 but Saurav Ganguly and Sachin Tendulkar had been dismissed narrowly in the nineties respectively for 99 and 92. This provided the 12th occasion in which Indian batsmen had accomplished such a feat but this was the first time that such a feat was recorded against England in the 90 Tests that have taken place, as at the end of the Leeds Test. Following are the 12 such occasions.
1Umrigar PR223Manjrekar VL118Kripal Singh AG100*IndNZHyderabad1955/56
2Gavaskar SM120Vengsarkar DB109Kapil Dev126*IndWIDelhi1978/79
3Viswanath GR179Gaekwad AD102Amarnath MB101*IndWIKanpur1978/79
4Gavaskar SM115Viswanath GR131Yashpal Sharma100*IndAusDelhi1979/80
5Gavaskar SM172Srikkanth K116Amarnath MB138IndAusSydney1985/86
6Gavaskar SM103Vengsarkar DB164*Shastri RJ121*IndAusBombay1986/87
7Gavaskar SM176Azharuddin M199Kapil Dev163IndSLKanpur1986/87
8Sidhu NS111Tendulkar SR143Azharuddin M126IndSLColombo1997/98
9Ramesh S110Tendulkar SR217Ganguly SC125IndNZAhmedabad1999/00
10Das SS110Dravid RS162Tendulkar SR201*IndZimNagpur2000/01
11Das SS105Tendulkar SR176Bangar SB100*IndZimNagpur2001/02
12Dravid RS148Tendulkar SR193Ganguly SC128IndEngHeadingley2002

Write Comments